Forum Immigration UK

Forum of expats in the Immigration UK: Ask questions and participate to discussions concerning expatriation.

Search the whole website

User's Charter  -  Help  -  Terms and Rules  -  Privacy Policy

✎ EN UK spouse/fiancee visa questions

Discussion in 'Immigration UK' started by laurasheff, Aug 10, 2005.

1. laurasheff

laurasheff Member

I am applying for a fiancee visa at the UK consulate in New York City. I will then be moving over to England to join my fiancee, and be married within two months. I have two questions:

a. My fiancee is a musician, thus self-employed and does not draw pay stubs or any regular wage. I am a freelance writer and my situation is similar. We are both young and recently(ish) out of school. Thus his father is writing a letter as our "financial sponsor," offering to support us if we are to fall on hard times, and including his bank statements to show his considerable financial strength. Where do I ask him to send these financials and his statement? Do I have them send them to me, then include them with the application, or is there a place where he can fax them so they can be included with my application? (This goes for my fiancee's statement, financial documents, and landlord's letter as well). Also, does this virtually guarantee we are free of worries that we will be denied due to financial considerations?

b. Once we are married in England, I realize I must then apply for my spousal visa, so that I am allowed to take employment. I plan to go to Croydon to make this application. What are the approximate waiting times once I make this application, is this pretty much guaranteed to be approved (since a fiancee visa was already granted), and do I need to pay a SECOND £250 visa fee?

Kind regards for your time and consideration.

2. EasyExpat

EasyExpat Administrator
    Staff Member

City:
    London
    Living In:
    United Kingdom
    Nationality:
    British (GB)
    Languages:
    English, Français