Forum Immigration UK

Forum of expats in the Immigration UK: Ask questions and participate to discussions concerning expatriation.

Search the whole website

User's Charter  -  Help  -  Terms and Rules  -  Privacy Policy

✎ EN Non-EEA (nigerian)married to uk citizen, EU settlement visa?

Discussion in 'Immigration UK' started by gingerlash, Jan 27, 2010.

1. gingerlash

gingerlash New Member

Dear all,

I am a British Citizen residing in the United Kingdom,married to a Nigerian Citizen. We have been married since January 17th 2009. My husband currently works in Nigeria, I am a full time student.

We both wish to relocate to Spain, and would like to know how best we should go about this.

1. Is there a settlement Visa my husband can acquire?

2. Is it best to apply for a short term visitor visa to enter the country and then apply for residency?

3. Would i need to be in Lagos with my husband when he applied?

4. If my husband has funds that he can prove will sustain us - could we apply for a long term stay visa straight off?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!
    Many thanks

2. Yousafzai

Yousafzai Addicted member

City:
    London
    Living In:
    United Kingdom
    Nationality:
    Pakistani (PK)
    Languages:
    English, Urdu, Pashto
    Re: non-EEA (nigerian)married to uk citizen, EU settlement v

First off, things can be quicker and simpler if you are already residing in Spain or at least enter Spain together.

1- Yes, under the EU law, your husband has a right of residency in any EU country except UK since thats your home country. You must be of course already resident or can show proof that you are going to be resident in that particular country.

2- Yes, thats the best and easiest way. Your husband can apply for EU Family member visa which is granted free of cost ( NOT the usual visit or Schengen visa ) in Spanish embassy in Lagos and once in Spain together with you, can apply for a residence permit.

3- No, you don't need to.