Forum Barcelona

Forum of expats in Barcelona: Ask questions and participate to discussions concerning expatriation.

Search the whole website

User's Charter  -  Help  -  Terms and Rules  -  Privacy Policy

✎ EN Moving to Barcelona.

Discussion in 'Barcelona' started by chrisstone100, Aug 31, 2009.

1. chrisstone100

chrisstone100 New Member

City:
    Bristol
    I am 24 and have come to the realization that I want to leave in Barcelona. I have been visiting the area since I was 3 years old and have friends out there (Lloret de Mar mainly). However, I have a concern with the practicalities of moving (mostly financial).

I have very little money and am trying to save up. But I have realized that the best way of getting out there is to have a Job. I don't speak Spanish or Catalan, but know by living out there I will pick it up over time- so I know I am limited in what jobs I can get but I have heard that AVIS hire fluent native speakers for their call centre in Barcelona. Can anyone explain how I go about finding a job and applying there? Also an idea of what the salary would be as would be a great help.

As I have a loan to payoff in the UK so I will be looking at a flat share if I do move out there. Does anyone any advice or experience with this?

If anyone else can contact me with their experiences or any advice that would be great as well.

Thanks in advance

Chris

2. TrentBorn

TrentBorn New Member

City:
    Barcelona
    Advice on Housing

If you want, there's a company that I found here in Barcelona called BornLiving (http://www.bornliving.com/). They'll be able to help you find a flat as well as give you advice about jobs, info about the area, stuff to do, places to eat, etc. They also speak English. Hope this helps!

3. emmaemma

emmaemma New Member

chaep apartments barcelona

I live out in there and theres a really good company called where you can find lots of cheap apartments barcelona. its a great website to get to know the city as well

4. mazi star