Overview of Kuala Lumpur

Politics of Kuala Lumpur

Home > Expat Guides > Asia > Malaysia > Kuala Lumpur


Executive powers of Malaysia

Under the constitution, a monarch is elected for five-year terms by, and from among the hereditary rulers of Johore, Kedah, Kelantan, Negri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Selangor, and Trengganu. Rule's powers are similar to those of the British monarch. Powers include discretion in the selection of a prime minister and granting dissolution of parliament.

The current Monarch is Abdul Halim of Kedah, or more formerly Almu'tasimu Billahi Muhibbuddin Tuanku Alhaj Abdul Halim Mu'adzam Shah Ibni Almarhum Sultan Badlishah. The genealogy of and history of the Monarchs can be found on the page of the Malaysian Highness.

The current Prime Minister is Najib Razak, member of the United Malays National Organization party.


The parliament, the Dewan Negara, is composed of a 70-member senate. 40 members are nominated by the head of state, four from the federal territories and two members are elected by the 13 sate assemblies and the term lasts for six years. The Dewan Rakyat, the House of Representatives, has 192 members, which are elected for 5 year terms.

Each state has its own constitution, head of state, and elected assembly, led by a chief minister and cabinet, and legislates on matters outside the federal parliament's area of interest.

Political Parties

Malaysia's predominant political party is the United Malays National Organization (UMNO). The Prime Minister of Malaysia has always been from the UMNO. The party has held power in coalition with other parties since Malaya's independence in 1957. Known as the Barisan Nasional coalition, there are three prominent members - the UMNO, MCA (Malaysian Chinese Association) and MIC (Malaysian Indian Congress).

Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur is under the Federal Territories of Malaysia. The local authority, Dewan Bandaraya Kuala Lumpur or DBKL, is in charge of administration. DBKL is responsible for public health, town planning, environmental protection, social and economic development and maintenance related to urban infrastructure.

DBKL Headquarters

Address: Jalan Raja Laut
Telephone: 03-2617 9941 / 9944
Walk-ins are accepted Monday through Saturday.

There are another 11 branches around town that can be found on the DBKL website.

Executive Powers of Kuala Lumpur

Executive power lies with the mayor, who is appointed by the Federal Territories Minister to work as mayor for three years. The current mayor of KL is Ahmad Phesal Talib.

Update 3/06/2015

Related articles:


Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Pinterest Addthis

Recommended Service Partners

International Movers

When you move internationally you are taking a big step. Lots of things are changing and you have a million things to think about and take care of. If you are able to select a top of the line moving company that moves for a modest price, it can take a big weight of your shoulders in busy times.

Our network of international removal companies can move your furniture & possessions to Malaysia and anywhere overseas.

Filling in the form at the bottom will allow you to request up to 5 quotes from various moving companies. This service is free of charge and will help you select an international moving company that suits your needs and budget.

Do you have comments or personal information to communicate about this article? Add your comment.

Go to the Forum to talk more about politics of Kuala Lumpur, overview.

Find more definitions and general answers on expatriation issues in the Expat FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions).