Forum Sweden

Forum of expats in Sweden: Ask questions and participate to discussions concerning expatriation.

Search the whole website

User's Charter  -  Help  -  Terms and Rules  -  Privacy Policy

✎ EN Moving to sweden

Discussion in 'Sweden' started by williamhenry1, Apr 12, 2012.

1. williamhenry1

williamhenry1 New Member

Living In:
    Hungary
    Nationality:
    Batswana (BW)
    Languages:
    english
    i am a newly graduated doctor from hungary in the eu and i am married to an eu national and have an eu permit, and we are planning to move to sweden in the next couple of months. my wife still has a 1 and half year more left in medical school in sweden, so she cant fully join me in sweden, she will be visiting me alot while i will be in sweden.
    since i am not an eu citizen but have an eu family permit, i dont know how easy it will be for me to settle in sweden really. already i have recieved a swedish medical licence to practice as a doctor in sweden, and i am learning swedish as well.
    having gone through the swedish immigration website, it seems that since my wife who is an eu citizen wont join me immediately, then i would have to apply as a non eu citizen on my own to be able to stay in sweden. albeit, i can only apply for a work permit if i have an offer of employment.
    pls if anyone could give me some advice, on how to go about this or if anyone has being in the same experience as me, would really appreiciate some advice as well.

i know the eu law says for non eu citizens, married to eu citizens, they can only exercise the freee movement as long as their spouse is with them.. thanks

2. texkourgan

texkourgan Addicted member
    Networker Editor

City:
    Berlin
    Living In:
    Germany
    Nationality:
    American (US)
    Languages:
    English, a little Deutsch