Forum Immigration UK

Forum of expats in the Immigration UK: Ask questions and participate to discussions concerning expatriation.

Search the whole website

User's Charter  -  Help  -  Terms and Rules  -  Privacy Policy

✎ EN Eea2 and Comprehensive Medical Insurance

Discussion in 'Immigration UK' started by ametisto, Mar 20, 2010.

1. ametisto

ametisto Member

Living In:
    United Kingdom
    Nationality:
    German (DE)
    Languages:
    german, english, spanish
    Hi,

here's the problem:
    i am daniel, german citizen married to a chilean. We are living in the uk where i am doing a phd. My wife is working part-time (around 25hrs/week) at a bakery.

Her eea2 (residence card) application was returned stating that she needs to submit fully comprehensive medical insurance held for all family members included in the application. I know that some people have experienced issues with that before so i called them up to get the latest information. The lady on the phone told me that i (sponsor) need to have comprehensive medical insurance, my wife doesn't. The thing is, i have comprehensive medical insurance (covering virtually everything, even dental treatment) and included a letter from the insurance company in the application. It was still returned. I find this quite upsetting. I asked the lady on the phone about this and she seemed somewhat surprised, too. Then she said that they cannot accept a letter from the insurance company and that i have to send the original insurance documents. What the hell is that supposed to mean? I have been with the insurance company for over 25 years and don't have any other documents. Since it's a german company i even called them up and asked if the can write the letter in english. What more can i possibly do? Any tips on how to proceed? Should i still take out medical insurance for my wife? And if so which one? Thanks for your help. It's much appreciated.

2. EasyExpat

EasyExpat Administrator
    Staff Member

City:
    London