Forum Immigration UK

Forum of expats in the Immigration UK: Ask questions and participate to discussions concerning expatriation.

Search the whole website

User's Charter  -  Help  -  Terms and Rules  -  Privacy Policy

✎ EN EEA Fmily permit that seems unattainable

Discussion in 'Immigration UK' started by Faith, May 3, 2007.

1. Faith

Faith Member

City:
    SOUTH AFRICA
    Dear Friends,

I would really appreciate it if any of you could shed some light on this.

I’m South African, I lived in the UK for 5 and a half years. I was initially on a 2 year working holiday visa–which we all start on -then I studied and was on a student visa ,an extension to the student visa was refused and as a result I overstayed for 22 months. My husband, who was then a boyfriend, is from Lithuania. We were living together for 17 months of these 22 months when he proposed. We were advised to get married in South Africa as we would not get permission to marry in England. This suited us perfectly as my parents had to meet my husband. We married 01/2007 in South Africa and applied for the EEA Family permit (here in South Africa) in February. We provided all evidence of our relationship with the application, my husband’s payslips (for a year) and bank statements, our marriage certificate, photographs of the wedding and of us before the wedding in England, a bill that has both our names in it.