Forum Copenhagen

Forum of expats in Copenhagen: Ask questions and participate to discussions concerning expatriation.

Search the whole website

User's Charter  -  Help  -  Terms and Rules  -  Privacy Policy

✎ EN Considering moving to Copenhagen

Discussion in 'Copenhagen' started by LiRod, Jan 20, 2013.

1. LiRod

LiRod New Member

Living In:
    Portugal
    Nationality:
    Portuguese (PT)
    Languages:
    Portuguese,English,French
    Hello everybody!

I'm a young Portuguese female,my boyfriend is Danish and it's really hard to be a long time without being with each other.So,as I'm currently ending my contract as a substitute teacher in University and because Portugal is under a crisis(luckily not yet so big as in Greece or Spain but it's really hard to get a job),we've been thinking about me moving to Copenhagen.

Unfortunately,I don't have much work experience but I have a Bachelor in a course it's related with animal production.

My concerns are:1-Would it be sufficient to speak English to get a not qualified job like waitress or something like that?
    2-How hard it is for a foreigner to find a job?
    3-Would be easier to apply for job offers online being in Denmark and using a Danish address?

Sincerily hoping for genuine opinions.

Regards from Portugal

2. Cyrilexpat

Cyrilexpat Administrator
    Staff Member Editor

City:
    London
    Living In:
    United Kingdom
    Nationality:
    French (FR)
    Languages:
    Français, English, Italiano (un pó)
    Most of the people speak English in Copenhagen, this is trully international. However it might be more difficult to get a job as a waiter as some will speak to you in Danish (hey, this is their country! ;-) ) but they must recruit non customer facing too.
    The best thing is to go there as a tourist and have a look before to decide for a move.

Also don't forget to read our guide for expatriation in Copenhagen where you will find plenty of tips.