Forum Immigration Poland - Polska

Forum of expats in Immigration Poland - Polska: Ask questions and participate to discussions concerning expatriation.

Search the whole website

User's Charter  -  Help  -  Terms and Rules  -  Privacy Policy

✎ EN Confirmation of Polish Citizenship- Both Parents Are Polish

Discussion in 'Immigration Poland - Polska' started by vailmij, Apr 13, 2010.

1. vailmij

vailmij New Member

Living In:
    Usa
    Nationality:
    American (US)
    Languages:
    English, Français
    Hello,
    my girlfriend (eva)'s parents are both polish and moved to the us in the 1980s. They got married and she was born in the us. Eva plans to move with me to krakow in september 2010, and is hoping to apply for confirmation of polish citizenship so that she can stay as long as i will be there (about 2 years since i am studying at jagiellonian university).

The main issue that comes up is whether she should apply now thru the polish consulate in new york, which apparently could take up to 18 months; or should she wait until she arrives in poland and apply thru a government office there. According to what i have read, americans are allowed to stay in poland for 'travel/business' up to 90 days without a visa, so she would have until december 2010 to receive her citizenship without having to leave.

Does anybody have any recommendations as to how she should go about doing this? Thank you!

2. richasis

richasis Member

Living In:
    Poland
    Nationality:
    American (US)
    Languages:
    English
    Hi...
    While Eva's case looks promising on its face, I do not think 90 days would suffice.
    From others' experiences, this route is wrought with the perils of a visa overstay.
    This would NOT be good! Have you considered the services of a Polish attorney?
    From what I've seen as of late, Confirmation times can be as little as 6-8 months.
    Welcome to the forums and do browse around: it proved to be invaluable for me