Forum Immigration Poland - Polska

Forum of expats in Immigration Poland - Polska: Ask questions and participate to discussions concerning expatriation.

Search the whole website

User's Charter  -  Help  -  Terms and Rules  -  Privacy Policy

✎ EN Birth Certificate From Ukraine (Was Poland in 1920-1939)

Discussion in 'Immigration Poland - Polska' started by Harjeet, Nov 8, 2011.

1. Harjeet

Harjeet Well-Known Member

Living In:
    Canada
    Nationality:
    Canadian (CA)
    Languages:
    English
    Hello,

I have been working on confirmation of Polish citizenship for 4 years. Essentially my great grandfather was born in Galicia, an area that was part of Poland from 1920-1939 and is now a part of the Ukraine.

Warsaw would like my great grandfather's birth certificate.

My great grandfather left this area in 1928 as a Polish citizen. I had a search conducted in Poland (through a consulate) and they did not find his birth certificate. I am now attempting to do a search in the Ukraine. The Ukrainian consulate has a questionnaire that you must fill out to do a birth certificate search. They say that if the questionnaire (essentially a form) is NOT complete it will not be valid and they won't do a search. I wrote the consulate explaining that I do not have my great grandfather's parents first names and his mother's maiden name. They told me then my questionnaire would not be considered complete and they would not do a search. I asked them how to proceed in getting the info but their solution was to not write me back.

I have attempted to email the regional oblast archive office and the email address bounced. I emailed the state head archive office and haven't heard back. The central head archive is the one that requires the questionnaire.

Anyone have any thoughts on how to proceed?