Forum Immigration UK

Forum of expats in the Immigration UK: Ask questions and participate to discussions concerning expatriation.

Search the whole website

User's Charter  -  Help  -  Terms and Rules  -  Privacy Policy

✎ EN American becoming Polish to live in the UK

Discussion in 'Immigration UK' started by omghi, Nov 29, 2010.

1. omghi

omghi New Member

Living In:
    Usa
    Nationality:
    American (US)
    Languages:
    English
    Ok... so...

Basically I am posting on here, because the home office website is as useless as ever...

My situation:

I am an American. I moved to the UK five years ago to study. I got my degree after three years, and got a Post Study visa for two years. My employer wouldn't sponsor me (due to all the government changes). So my immigration options were limited. Luckily, my parents are Polish so I've decided to get a lawyer in Poland to get me my Polish citizenship as soon as possible. I'm expected to get this within three months. I am back in the US while this is going on (I left before my visa expired).

I guess my main questions are, when coming into the UK under my Polish citizenship is there anything I need to provide them with (information/documents)? I really want to avoid having a hard time with border control. When I get back in, I'm looking to get a job immediately, I have friends to stay with, it's just starting fresh, yknow?

I know I need to register under the workers migrant scheme. Is there anything else to do? Can I also use the same information as I was using when working under my student visa/post study visa... such as national insurance number, etc. Will all my NHS information stay the same?