Forum Istanbul

Forum of expats in Istanbul: Ask questions and participate to discussions concerning expatriation.

Search the whole website

User's Charter  -  Help  -  Terms and Rules  -  Privacy Policy

✎ EN Moving to Istanbul from Seattle

Discussion in 'Istanbul' started by f1maniac, Nov 14, 2011.

1. f1maniac

f1maniac New Member

Living In:
    Usa
    Nationality:
    American (US)
    Languages:
    English
    Hi Folks!
    I currently live in Seattle, USA and have been offered a job in Istanbul. I am a software architect and my salary here is 140K USD plus bonuses. I wanted to understand what an equivalent salary in Istanbul would be.

I have looked at some salary websites but was hoping for some advice from real people on what would be the cost of a comfortable lifestyle in Istanbul?

Thanks!

2. deniz

deniz New Member

City:
    Istanbul
    Living In:
    Turkey
    Nationality:
    Turkish (TR)
    Languages:
    Turkish, English
    Hi,

If you're moving here with the same salary - then you'll have an above average life style - Istanbul is very widely spread and depending on the neighborhood rent can be quite cheap or around 2-3,000 liras...
    If you tell me where your office is, and which neighborhood you plan on living - i should be able to give you more accurate info
    When it comes to day to day life...food is certainly cheaper than the US, nightlife (if you're into it) can be more expensive compared to the US
    Monthly utility bills come to approx 300 liras...cabs are around the same as NYC
    cell phones...they do have your typical monthly plans i.e. 1000 minutes per month costs around 70 liras - but dont have perks like 7pm to 7am free sort of deals
    so if you have around 2000 liras left after you've paid rent - then you'll have a comfortable life style
    thats all i can think of so far, feel free to let me know if you have any other questions

cheers,
    Deniz

3. f1maniac

f1maniac New Member

Living In:
    Usa