Forum Spain

Forum of expats in Spain: Ask questions and participate to discussions concerning expatriation.

Search the whole website

User's Charter  -  Help  -  Terms and Rules  -  Privacy Policy

✎ EN American Student/Spouse in London Moving to Study in Spain

Discussion in 'Spain' started by wisof, Jul 26, 2006.

1. wisof

wisof New Member

City:
    London
    Hi everyone. My situation is as follows: I am currently completing a masters course in a London institution. I am American, and so is my spouse. I have an opportunity to do another masters in Spain through a scholarship that will pay my tuition, living expenses, and travel. I am Puerto Rican so spanish is my native tounge.

Currently, my spouse can work in the UK 40 hrs and as a student I can work 20. It seems that in Spain we will not be able to legally work at all, can anyone confirm this?

These are the documents I think I need for both of us (from another page):

•Passport valid for a minimum of six months and three photocopies of the personal information and photo page.
    •4 recent pictures, passport size.
    •Original marriage certificate *.
    •Original certificate of good conduct issued by the police department of the city or cities where the applicant has spent 6 months or more in the last 5 years, with a translation into Spanish .
    •Original medical certificate typed on doctor’s stationary verifying that the applicant is free from the following quarantine diseases: yellow fever, cholera, and the plague. The certificate must also certify that the applicant is free of drug addictions and mental illness, with a translation into Spanish .
    •Original Medical Insurance that will cover you in Spain.

For student:

•3 Schengen visa application forms fully completed and signed at the bottom of the back page.
    •Proof of admission to a Spanish academic center as a full-time student from the Spanish center or from the U.S. program as well as transcripts from your current studies.