Entertainment in Miami


Theatre, Opera, Museum in Miami


Home > Expat Guides > North America > Usa > Miami
Tools:

Cultural Plaza joins the Museum of Art, the Museum of History and the Public library, the fabulous Villa Viscaya on Biscayne Bay, sheltering the Museum of Decorative Arts, are some of the more infamous cultural attractions in Miami. Billionaires yachts embark from Key Biscayne and Bayside where you may join the crowd of onlookers as they set sail to the islands and Mexico or come and say hello to Flipper the dolphin hero of the televised series of your childhood at the Miami Seaquarium. Then visit the Metrozoo, were more than 700 savage animals await for you! And let's not forget the beautiful Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden in the district of Coral Gables.

Don't miss the contemporary Art Base, the most important fair in the US, set in Miami Beach since 2002. Every local museum, gallery and collection is represented there, including many French art galleries.
www.artbasel.com

The famous Art Fair of contemporary and modern art, ART MIAMI, is held at the beginning of the year in the Miami Beach Convention Center, exposing works from more than 125 galleries from 26 different countries around the world.

Miami Beach Convention Center, Hall D
1901 Convention Center Drive
Miami Beach, FL 33139
Tél : 866 727 7953 - Tél : 305 573 1388

Miami Book Fair International promotes literature by the organizing readings, discussion groups and other various activities.
www.miamibookfair.com

Museums

Miami Art Museum - MAM
West Flagler Street
Miami, FL 33131
Tél : 305 375 1492
The MAM accommodates important temporary exhibitions and has, since 1996, a permanent collection of contemporary art, and local subjects and artists of the Caribbean are often displayed there.
www.miamiartmuseum.org

Museum of Contemporary Art - MOCA
Joan Lehman Building
770 NE 125th Street
North Miami, FL 33161
Tél : 305 893 6211
The majority of the works exhibited are by internationally recognized artists, however the museum is also interested in the local artists
www.mocanomi.org

Historical Museum of Southern Florida
Center Plaza, 101 West Flager Street
Downtown Miami
Tél : 305 375 1492
Dedicated to the history of south Florida and the Caribbean, this museum is composed of a permanent gallery dedicated to temporary exhibits and a research center.
www.historical-museum.org/

List of attractions:

Lion Country Safari www.lioncountrysafari.com.
Butterfly World - www.butterflyworld.com.
Native Village Zoo - www.nativevillage.netfirms.com.
Miami Seaquarium - www.miamiseaquarium.com.
Miami Metrozoo - www.miamimetrozoo.com.
Ancient Spanish Monastery - www.spanishmonastery.com.
Coral Castle - www.coralcastle.com.
Monkey Jungle - www.monkeyjungle.com.
Jungle Island - www.parrotjungle.com.
Vizcaya Museum & Gardens -www.vizcayamuseum.org. .
Art Deco Historic District-
Biscayne National Park -
Biscayne Nature Center-
Everglades National Park
Miami Children's Museum
Miami Metro Zoo
Miami Seaquarium
Parrot Jungle

Update 17/06/2008



Tools:

Facebook Twitter Google+ LinkedIn Pinterest Addthis

Recommended Service Partners

International Movers
International Movers in Miami
Compare up to 5 quotes from our network of moving companies that can help you plan your international move and relocate your entire family.
Expatriate health insurance
Expatriate health insurance in the Usa
Apply online for free quotes on repatriation assistance and expatriate and foreign health insurance.
Hotels
Hotels in the Usa
You will get discount hotel rates, last-minute deals, hot deals, special offers, with a real-time reservation and on-line booking.


Do you have comments or personal information to communicate about this article? Add your comment.


Go to the Forum to talk more about theatre, opera, museum in Miami, entertainment.


Find more definitions and general answers on expatriation issues in the Expat FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions).


Stay connected

- My Life Abroad -
A selection of expat stories

"A fun compulsive read!"
J. Matcham, Amazon

"I strongly advise people ready to live abroad to read this book!"
Patrice, Amazon